25.—Legislatures of Saskatchewan, 1934-60, as at Apr. 30, 1963

Note.—Legislatures from Confederation to 1923 are given in the 1924 Year Book, p. 81, and for 1924-34 in the 1938 edition, p. 116.

Date of	Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of
Election		of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution
June 19, 1934 June 8, 1938 June 15, 1944 June 24, 1948 June 11, 1952 June 20, 1956 June 8, 1960	8th. 9th. 10th. 11th. 12th. 13th. 14th.	4 6 5 5 4 4	Nov. 15, 1934 Jan. 19, 1939 Oct. 19, 1944 Feb. 10, 1949 Feb. 12, 1953 Feb. 14, 1957 Oct. 11, 1960	May 14, 1938 May 10, 1944 May 19, 1948 May 7, 1952 Apr. 25, 1956 May 4, 1960

¹ Life of Legislature not expired at Apr. 30, 1963.

26.—Ninth Ministry of Saskatchewan, as at Apr. 30, 1963

(Party standing at latest General Election, June 8, 1960: 38 Co-operative Commonwealth Federation and 17 Liberal.)

Note.—Ministers are shown at date of original appointment as a Minister and at date of appointment to present portfolio, despite the formation of a new Ministry consequent upon the appointment of a new Premier.

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment	Date of Present Appointment
Premier and President of the Executive Council. Provincial Treasurer. Minister of Public Health. Minister of Labour and Minister of Telephones Minister of Agriculture. Minister of Mineral Resources. Attorney General and Provincial Secretary. Minister of Industry and Information. Minister of Highways and Transportation. Minister of Social Welfare and Rehabilitation. Minister of Education. Minister of Public Works. Minister of Municipal Affairs. Minister of Co-operation and Co-operative Development. Minister of Natural Resources.	Hon. A. E. BLAKENEY. Hon. C. C. WILLIAMS. Hon. I. C. NOLLET. Hon. A. G. KUZIAK. Hon. R. A. WALKER. Hon. R. BROWN. Hon. C. G. WILLIS.	July 10, 1944 Aug. 1, 1960 July 10, 1944 Jan. 8, 1946 Oct. 24, 1952 July 27, 1956 July 27, 1956 Aug. 31, 1956 July 11, 1960 July 11, 1960 Aug. 29, 1960 Nov. 21, 1961 Sept. 7, 1962	Nov. 7, 1961 Sept. 7, 1962 Sept. 7, 1962 Sept. 7, 1956 Jan. 8, 1946 Nov. 19, 1962 July 27, 1956 Aug. 30, 1957 Apr. 1, 1960 Aug. 1, 1960 July 11, 1960 Nov. 7, 1961 Sept. 7, 1962 Nov. 21, 1961 Sept. 7, 1962 Nov. 19, 1962

Subsection 9.—Alberta

The Government of Alberta is composed of a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly. There are 65* members in the Legislative Assembly, elected for a maximum period of five years. The Hon. J. Percy Page, Lieutenant-Governor at Apr. 30, 1963, was commissioned to office Dec. 19, 1959. Lieutenant-Governors since Confederation (1905) are listed in the 1960 Year Book, p. 116. Premiers since Confederation are listed in the same edition, p. 117.

Each member of the Legislative Assembly (except the Speaker and the Deputy Speaker) receives a sessional indemnity of \$3,000 plus \$1,500 expense allowance plus \$15 for each day during the session when he is necessarily absent from his ordinary place of residence, both tax free. The Speaker's sessional indemnity is \$4,750 plus \$2,250 expense allowance and the Deputy Speaker's sessional indemnity is \$4,000 plus \$2,000 expense allowance. Each also receives \$15 for each day during the session when he is necessarily absent from his ordinary place of residence. The Premier, in addition to the sessional indemnity, receives \$14,000, each of the other Ministers receives \$11,000 and each member of the Opposition receives \$625; there is no Opposition Leader in the present Legislature.

^{*63} members, following adjustment of constituencies immediately preceding the General Election of June 17 1963.